MID-CENTURY MADNESS IN ARIZONA

3 years ago I was living in Phoenix, AZ. It’s been on my mind a lot lately, as there’s certain things I miss about it. The beauty of the desert, the dry heat (10x better than TX humidity), 80 degree ‘winters’, the friends I made out there, and the incredible mid century architecture!  Needless to say, I’ve been reminiscing through old photos, and decided I’d share some with you.

Here’s some architectural photos I took out there; mainly of buildings from the 50s and early 60s, with a few older ones added for good measure. Do enjoy, and credit/link back if you repost.

This ‘mushroom’ bank was vacant, and scheduled for destruction. *sob*

Cool as hell windows! Bugs might be a prob though.

6 responses to “MID-CENTURY MADNESS IN ARIZONA

  1. I really enjoyed this! Makes me want to do a road trip through the States.

    • So glad to hear you like them! I definately had fun taking these pics when I lived out there.

      Since Phoenix was experienced tons of growth in the 50s and early 60s (namely as a retirement community), there’s so much mid century architecture out there. Having route 66 run through it helps too – all along it are little courtyard motels built between the 30s and 50s.

      My pics are only a fraction of what’s out there. I’d love to go back and document even more. Do it while they’re still standing.

  2. I have lived here all my life and have really I guess never “looked”. I can figure out where most of these building pictured are.

    • These are scattered all over AZ, including some super rural areas. But a lot of them are in Phoenix. Between 19th and 7th Ave. there’s a lot of old courtyard apartments. And some great mid century commerical buildings run along Indian School, Camelback, and even Van Buren.

  3. OMG YES. thanks SOOO MUCH for posting these!!! My friends and I are going on a little excursion this weekend, taking pictures of googie/mid-century architecture, here in Phoenix!!! I was trying to remember which buildings (aside from the Punch Card Building, at Central and Osborne), to snap pics of!!! This collection helped so hard! :D

Leave a Reply

