WHAT I HATE ABOUT BLOGGING IS

 I don’t have enough time to do it! I really wish that weren’t the case, but I work around 80 hours a week. Hence most of my posts begin with some apology for my absence in the blogsphere. In a round about way, this post included : P.

 Someday I’ll learn to accept that I’m no Gala Darling; that churning out amazing essays each day isn’t in my cards. Until then bear with me.

 So where was I? Ah, yes. UPDATING! So much has gone on lately – March has been a great month so far. A few weeks ago I did a buying trip in south Texas. On the way down there I spent a night in Austin. Here’s what my room looked like:

 

Can you believe this is a Motel 6? Since when did they take cues from 60s modernism?!?!?

 I’m digging this towel holder.

Totally into it. And for under $50.00 a night it was a great deal. But I won’t be staying there again. The next morning one of the other lodgers kept calling and making lewd propositions. Hello, stalker! It was probobly the old dude below me.  And the area I was in is known for it’s pimps and ho’s. I ALWAYS get mistaken for a hooker, no matter what I’m wearing. I was once propositioned by a bum while wearing a 3 pc. 1930s suit, fer f’s sakes!

 Anyway… the next day I did a little browsing and shopping in Austin. Mainly browsing, because vintage tends to be overpriced there. I did score a cute dress at New Bohemia though! Will, the guy at the counter, was cool as can be and very helpful. And he’s a dealer as well.

 After a day in Austin it was southward bound, and of course I scored some fabulous things! The next week it was off to Louisiana and east Texas. In Houston I got to catch up with Jason, an old friend of mine I knew back in Phoenix. It was great to see him and know he’s doing well. He works at Vintage Oasis, dj’s 60s garage/psych at a monthly event called Reverberation, and  has a new band called the Big Black Spiders.

 Here’s what I’ve listed on Goldmine Trash since my last post!

 

 Uber amazing 50s novelty print dress. If I were going to Viva Las Vegas, I’d keep this for myself and where it there. This thing belongs in a book!

 

50s Mode O’ Day plaid dress.  Collectors label of the future, imo. This ready to wear company is one of my faves. They always had amazing prints.

 Black ‘new look’ 50s tafetta w/ lil yellow diamonds. SWOON.

 Grecian goddess meets film fatale! With a back train! This 50s showtopper sold in no time. Designed by Evelyn Byrnes, an upscale NY dressmaker who had elite clients such as Marilyn Monroe.

Amazing 70s silk chiffon maxi dress by Adele Simpson. I usually avoid maxi’s like the plague. But I couldn’t say no to this one.

Gino Paoli Italian wool 60s sailor dress. This one sold pretty fast too. So cute!

 Zebra print secretary dress. I love these 70s/80s dresses. They’re great for getting instant glamour without the fuss.

 Boho meets Lolita. The best!

Plus sized rayon Hawaiian dress by Nani of Hawaii. From the 50s. Gotta love that super smooth, cold to the touch vintage rayon! Within an hour this sold.

 50s cotton dress w/ tons of sequins on the bodice. In a larger size too! Yup. You guessed it. Out the door as fast as it was listed.

I’m obsessed with this 70s sailor dress! And wore it down in Austin. What about this dress screams hooker to mysterious callers?!?!?

 Just listed today! 1940s cotton sun dress with apples!

Dig that print!

This photo is awful. but this dress is really really REALLY something! Tiered ruffles w/ metallic gold and metallic silver. from the 1950s. Best prom dress ever.

 Gold and Silver!

Another 50s prom queen. This time in pink w/ white lace.

Rockabilly queen! 50s red bandana print halter dress. Sold just like that!

Classic pink and white 50s gingham dress w/ full circle skirt.

 Does anyone know what this lacey trim is called? It’s throughout the dress, and looks damn cool!

Pretty in pink! A 50s day dress you can’t help but smile at.

And last but not least…

 From the front this looks like your archtype 50s party dress…

 But from behind you get this crazy trapeze like draping. Yet the waistline is totally nipped in on this. I’ve never seen a dress quite like it. Seriously showstopping. And it’d be great for a wedding or prom. Very Mad Men!

Between all this work, I managed to catch a few movies. I thought Shutter Island was awful! Very visually stunning, but too Stephen King, imo. I loved his wife’s dress though : ). Up In the Air was pretty depressing, but well done and perfectly casted. And of course Alice in Wonderland was a winner! I could go on and on about how much I love it, but instead I’ll refer you to Retro Chick’s blog. She did an excellent in depth review on it, and I happen to share her opinion.

 There’s TONS more vintage going up soon. Even more 40s and 50s + lots of 70s secretary dresses! And some 20s, 30s, 40s, 60s, and 80s pieces too. Including the most insane Victor Costa dress you’ll EVER see. Stay tuned!

 xoxo, SarahJayne

2 responses to “WHAT I HATE ABOUT BLOGGING IS

  1. Alice in Wonderland is amazing isn’t it! So glad you liked it.

    I love that apple print dress.

Leave a comment